Monday, 19 July 2010

Jordy Smith wins the J-Bay Billabong Pro 2010


In a classic never-say-die effort before the scores for the ride were even in, Smith then paddled into what was to be the last wave of the heat which opened up and allowed him to execute a series of progressive manoeuvres. Needing 7.41 to advance, his score of 7.93 resulted in rapturous applause and a cacophony of vuvuzelas and cheering from the packed partisan crowd basking in the mid-winter sunshine.

  “I’m still not too sure what happened – it’s all a blur,” Smith said of the semifinal. “I got that first one where I did the little grab air that I didn’t think was good, but the judges scored the whole wave pretty well. Then I backed it up and put everything I had into it.”

Billabong Pro J-Bay 2010
Final Results:
1 – Jordy Smith (ZAF) 17.93        10 000 pts      US $50 000
2 – Adam Melling (AUS) 10.00      8 000 pts        US $25 000  

  Billabong Pro J-Bay Semifinal Results: (Winner to final; Loser = 3rd, 6500 points, US $ 14 500
SF 1: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 14.83 def. Bede Durbidge (AUS) 14.40
SF 2: Adam Melling (AUS) 14.00 def. Taj Burrow (AUS) 10.67

Current ASP World Title Race Top 5 (after South Africa):
1. Jordy Smith (ZAF) 28500 pts
2. Taj Burrow (AUS) 24750 pts
3. Kelly Slater (USA) 23500 pts
4. Dane Reynolds (USA) 20000 pts
5. Adriano de Souza (BRA) 19500 pts
6. Mick Fanning (AUS) 19250 pts
7. Bede Durbidge (AUS) 18750 pts
8. Bobby Martinez (USA) 16500 pts
9. Jadson Andre (BRA) 16000 pts
10. Joel Parkinson (AUS) 14750 pts


No comments:

Post a Comment